Quick Links

Useful Links

Cardinal Griffin

Subject Information

The curriculum is comprised of 25 teaching periods per week, of one hour each. Each academic year group, from year 7 to year 13, has a bespoke curriculum model which has been selected based on their particular academic needs.


Pupils in Key Stage 3 (Years 7 & 8), undertake the core curriculum which comprises: English, Mathematics, Science, Religious Education, French, History, Geography, Physical Education, Performing Arts, Design Technology (including Art), Information Technology.


Pupils in Key Stage 4 (Year 9 to 11), are given a degree of choice over which subjects they wish to pursue to Level 2 with a wide range of GCSE and BTEC qualifications offered. A core curriculum, followed by all pupils, comprises: English, Mathematics, Science, Religious Education and Physical Education. Pupils then choose within a number of options to study we currently have pupils studying History, Geography, French, Computer Science, Design Technology, PE, Art, Food Preparation and Nutrition, Sport, Health and Social care, Performing Arts, Information Technology and Business across the range of year groups.


Pupils in Key Stage 5 (Year 12 & 13 - Sixth Form), can choose from a selection of both AcademicA-Levels and Vocational BTEC courses in a variety of subjects.


In addition to the 25 teaching periods, all pupils have a Magis period once a week which offers an opportunity to participate in extra-curricular activities.  This additional hour is also used to deliver the statutory PSHE curriculum.


Curriculum Overview Documents

Click on the links below to view the curriculum documentation for that particular year group.


Rudiments (Year 7) Curriculum Documents

Figures (Year 8) Curriculum Documents

Lower Grammar (Year 9) Curriculum Documents

Upper Grammar (Year 10) Curriculum Documents

Syntax (Year 11) Curriculum Documents

Poetry (Year 12) Curriculum Documents (to follow)

Rhetoric (Year 13) Curriculum Documents (to follow)